Star Wars Battlefront

User avatar
tropical_plague
Site Admin
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 9:17 am
Contact:

Re: Star Wars Battlefront

Postby tropical_plague » Thu Sep 24, 2015 10:29 am

I've heard things that make it sounds like the FC3 of BF, in terms of console-style auto-matchmaking where the system picks which player is the server for that game, etc. Yay.

DeftOne
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:58 am
Location: Des Moines, IA

Re: Star Wars Battlefront

Postby DeftOne » Thu Sep 24, 2015 11:19 am

Well, shit. That's not the type of comparison I like to see. :cry:

DeftOne
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:58 am
Location: Des Moines, IA

Re: Star Wars Battlefront

Postby DeftOne » Wed Oct 07, 2015 2:27 am


DeftOne
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:58 am
Location: Des Moines, IA

Re: Star Wars Battlefront

Postby DeftOne » Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:51 am

PCWorld's beta review. Not as glowing as Kotaku.

http://www.pcworld.com/article/2990073/ ... films.html

User avatar
tropical_plague
Site Admin
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 9:17 am
Contact:

Re: Star Wars Battlefront

Postby tropical_plague » Thu Oct 08, 2015 5:59 am

It's all about Hardline. :D

DeftOne
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:58 am
Location: Des Moines, IA

Re: Star Wars Battlefront

Postby DeftOne » Thu Oct 08, 2015 2:08 pm

Anybody try the beta yet? I'm downloading it now on my work laptop which is definitely sub-optimal, but I thought I'd at least give it a try and see what it looks like.

DeftOne
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:58 am
Location: Des Moines, IA

Re: Star Wars Battlefront

Postby DeftOne » Thu Oct 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Doesn't look like I'm going to get a chance to try out the beta, unfortunately. Downloaded and installed, but I get a warning when I launch it that my drivers are too old. There are two sets of graphics drivers on this laptop; Intel and NVIDIA. I updated the NVIDIA drivers just fine, but apparently the Intel drivers are DELL specific, and I get a warning that installing vanilla Intel drivers might cause bad things to happen. Unfortunately there don't seem to be any newer DELL specific drivers available. So...not sure where to go from here. I don't want to risk using the vanilla Intel drivers, as I'm probably pressing my luck as it is installing games on my work laptop.

I'm guessing the game is trying to use the on-board graphics (Intel drivers), thus the warning. Is there any way to specify or force the game to use the graphics card (Quadro K2100M) and its drivers?

EDIT: Well, I figured out how to force the use of the NVIDIA card, but the game still says my drivers are not up to date even though I downloaded the latest NVIDIA Quadro drivers. Apparently, the latest NVIDIA Quadro drivers are not sufficient. Looks like I'm sunk.

User avatar
tropical_plague
Site Admin
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 9:17 am
Contact:

Re: Star Wars Battlefront

Postby tropical_plague » Thu Oct 08, 2015 5:27 pm

Sorry, man. That sucks.

User avatar
E-Solo
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2015 5:17 am

Re: Star Wars Battlefront

Postby E-Solo » Wed Oct 14, 2015 3:21 am

@Defty
My laptop is Core I5 with Nvidia 310m card... it's less than optimal also with Battlefront...
On the good side, my 8 yr. old Desktop took a dump on me, so I'm at the beginning stages of acquiring new components in which to build my first computer...

I have a PSU, HDD, optical drive now... gonna make a decision on a case next...

DeftOne
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:58 am
Location: Des Moines, IA

Re: Star Wars Battlefront

Postby DeftOne » Thu Oct 15, 2015 9:11 am

You should chat with Trop -- he always has the down-low on the sweet cases.


Return to “Tiki Bar”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

 

 

cron